After Seeing Divergent The Movie And Reading Four, I Gave Allegiant Another Chance.

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)I’ll admit, I did not like this book the first time I tried to read it.  I loved the first book and enjoyed the second book.  I did not remember the characters besides Tris and Four and was confused about who Caleb, Christina and Peter were since it has been a year since reading Insurgent.  Since then, I’ve read Four, which I loved and saw the movie.  With the characters fresh in my mind I decided to give Insurgent and Allegient another go.  I am glad I did.  I enjoyed both books and found the ending satisfying.  I know many found the ending controversial, but I am glad some authors are not afraid to get a little George R. R. Martin from time to time.  Allegiant tackles the idea that some people are genetically pure while others are damaged.  People cannot help being violent, or less intelligent.  I was pleased to find out there was much more to Tris’s mother and would have loved to know more.  Maybe an ebook short on her story??? We find out who is controlling the faction experiment and watch Tobias and Tris battle their own demons to stay together.  The ending does seem a little cruel in that regard.  But it helps Tobias continue to evolve as a character.  I was able to keep the different POV chapters straight this time.  I enjoyed Tobias’s point of view in the book, Four, and was ready to get more of it. I enjoyed the complexity of Tris and Four as characters.  While not as strong as The Hunger Games trilogy in world building, I still enjoyed the series very much.  I am looking forward to the movie versions of both Insurgent and Allegiant.

Some ideas for discussing with teens:

Discuss when Nita says, “The people fighting it now probably fight because they have been taught that it is a problem.”  pg. 252

Discuss Tris’s relationship with her brother, Caleb.

How did Four’s feelings about himself change when he found out he was not Divergent.

Discuss Tris’s reaction to her mother’s past.

What are your opinions of Peter and Christina as characters?

Discuss Tris’s parent’s decision to join Abnegation together.

Discuss when Christina says, “Don’t get me wrong, I like to laugh, but I also want a relationship to mean something.” pg. 255

Discuss when Tris and Christina compare their ways of thinking with Abnegation and Candor.  Tris says, “Maybe it’s not so important to escape them (the factions.)” pg. 257

Discuss when Tris’s mother said there was evil in everyone, and the first step to loving someone else is to recognize that evil in ourselves, so we can forgive them.

Discuss when Tris says she chooses Tobias over and over again. pg. 372

Discuss Tobias’s decision about the memory serum.  What would you do?

Discuss “We can be mended.  We mend each other.” pg. 526

 

Leave a Reply

