I Love Kiera Cass’s Book Two In The Selection Series!

The Elite (The Selection, #2)Lately I’ve fallen in love with a series only to be a bit disappointed in book 2.  This was not the case with The Elite, book 2 in Keira Cass’s The Selection series.  I loved this book! America is still in the palace, still the favorite of Prince Maxom now that the group is down to six.  America is still torn between her growing feelings for Maxom and her history with Aspen.  As she moves closer to Maxom something horrible happens that makes her want to forget how much she is starting to care for him.  Oh… and I love the secret library!  I read this book in 24 hours.  I couldn’t put it down.  Cass pulls me in with the fashions, the drama, America’s spirit and need to do what is right.  Prince Maxom is dreamy and I am rooting for them to be together.  I am amazed how patient he is with America, wanting her to truly return his feelings.  So I became very frustrated when Maxom starts to show interest in some of the other girls.  The discussion of the caste system continues to be a great dystopian storyline.  We get a glimpse of how this came to be from the secret library.  I can’t wait for book 3.  I look forward to more world building and hope we will get more answers to how this world came to be.  I wish I didn’t have to wait until next year.  I discovered there is a novella called The Prince that is available in e book form.  It is a story from the view of Prince Maxom.  This will have to tide me over until then.

Some ideas for discussing with teens:

How do Maxom and Aspen stack up to each other now?  How would you pick?

Discuss Marlee’s punishment?  What would you have done if you were Maxom or America?

Why do you think Maxom started to move toward Kriss?

Why do you think America was so unpopular in the poles?

Discuss this passage, “You were the one who changed us when you left me in the tree house; and you keep thinking that if you push hard enough, you can make everything go back to before that moment.  It doesn’t work that way.  Give me a chance to choose you.” (pg. 310)

Discuss America’s reaction to what she read in the diaries.

Discuss America’s announcement about the caste system.

Why do you think Maxom did what he did with Celeste?

Leave a Reply

